Article Index



With the Settlement of Eastern Australia in 1788, the British brought four of the six pillars of the modern Australian nation. These were the Rule of Law, the English languagethe Crown and our Judeo Christian values. In a surprisingly brief period of time, the colonies were moving gradually towards self government.

The celebrated scientist, Charles Darwin, observed in 1836:

“When I arrived in Sydney, I felt proud to be an Englishman. We have achieved more in decades here than what those who colonised South America have achieved in as many centuries.”

Legislation to introduce self government and Parliamentary Democracy in New South Wales and Victoria was approved by the British government before the Eureka Stockade, which is often misrepresented as the source of Australian democracy.

The legislation was passed in 1855 and gradually extended to the other colonies. Parliamentary democracy is in fact the fifth pillar of our nation.

Proudly Supported by Australians for Constitutional Monarchy
Web Development by J.K Managed Solutions